First Day of Kindergarten: Handprint Poem Printable

On the first day of Kindergarten, along with getting to know each other, where the bathrooms are, handwashing, safety guidelines, a first day self-portrait and photo, and time to play, I also like to read a story and have students make a handprint keepsake.

In the past I have used Le bisou secret (The Kissing Hand) and made handprints and paper puppets. This year I will be using Bienvenue (All Are Welcome) , and making a class book about what makes us feel welcome and we will be tracing our handprints onto this poem printable I made.

What do you like to do on the first day of Kindergarten?

Published by Britney Allen

I am a French Immersion teacher fuelled by chocolate, leopard print, and family & friends. I love sharing and hearing new ideas.

Leave a comment